Julian Puffe

PLACE OF BIRTH: Schleiz, Germany
DATE OF BIRTH: 01 December 1995
HEIGHT: 185 cm
WEIGHT: 67 Kg
EYES: blue
HAIR: blond
LUCKY NUMBER: 19
RACE NUMBER: 19
HOBBY: Supermoto, BMX, Motocross
FAVOURITE CIRCUIT: Donington Park
FIRST WIN: Sachsenring 2013 / Yamaha R6 Cup
FIRST PODIUM: Hockenheimring 2011 / ADAC Junior Cup
WINS: 1
PODIUMS: 6
separatore_freccia
CAREER

2009: ADAC Minibike Cup  50 cc
2010: ADAC Junior Cup  125 cc
2011: ADAC Junior Cup  125 cc
2012: Yamaha R6 Cup  600cc
2013: Yamaha R6 Cup  600c4
2014: FIM Superstock 600 European Championship
2015: FIM Superstock 600 European Championship
2016: FIM Superstock 1000 World Cup

separatore_freccia

INTERVIEW WITH THE RIDER

How did your passion for the two wheels begin? When did you first approach motorbikes?
My brother started racing in 2003 when I was six years old. From then it was a normal thing for me to spend the summer at racetracks in Germany. I watched many races and more and more I wanted to ride by myself. Few years later, my dad bought a small Motocross bike. It was working really well and when I was 12 years we changed to the street bikes. On a small Go-kart track near my city, I was riding the 50 cc Honda NSR every weekend. In the same year I rode my first races and everything started.

When did you make your debut in a championship?
2009 was my fist complete season in the ADAC Minibike Cup with 50 cc bikes on go-kart tracks in Germany. In 2010 I went to the ADAC Junior Cup riding a 125cc Aprilia where I made my debut on road racing circuits. After the 2011 season I was too tall to step up to the moto3 class and I decided to go to the 600cc. My first year in the Yamaha R6 Cup 2012 was really hard. That was a big step for me and there were thousands of things to learn. My second season was much better. I finished 5 times on the podium and won the race at the Sachsenring. This season I finished 3rd in the overall championship. Me and my family decided to make the step to the STK600 European Championship in 2014. My team and I had some good top 10 results. The 2015 season starts really well. In Assen I make my careers best result with a 5th place. The rest of the season we had some big problems with the electronic and I couldn`t finish a lot of races. 2016 was my first year in the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup on the big bikes.
Brief chronological description of the season 2016
Many up´s and down`s in my first Superstock 1000 season. My best result was a 12th place in Donington Park. A lot of problems with suspension and electronics prevented us from better results. But I´m sure, with the right team and when everything is working well, I can be much further ahead.

What are your forecasts for the season 2017?
I never had the possibility to work together with an so professional Team like Althea BMW. The 2017 season is for me like a chance of a lifetime and I will give 120% to thank this with good results. I´m sure that the team can help me a lot to improve everything and I can learn so many important things to be a better rider. I want to show my true potential and can´t wait to start this new adventure.